PDA

View Full Version : Starting out with a used 220 gallon aquarium

Jayy
03-14-2016, 12:55 PM
Hey folks,

I'm just beginning my discus journey, using a 220 gallon aquarium I bought at a government surplus auction. It used to belong to a local elementary school, but it's sat in a warehouse for a couple months before being sold.

I got it all cleaned up and noticed that the silicone along the bottom of the tank in front and rear is very cloudy. The tag on the tank says it was assembled in 2003, so it's well over 10 years old. I figured I better check carefully for leaks.

Sure enough, after adding about 5 gallons of water, the rear seal is leaking.

So yesterday evening I cut out all the silicone and wiped down the seams with acetone. I reapplied GE #1 silicone to reseal it and I'm just hoping I did a good enough job. I've never tried to reseal any tank, but especially such a large one before. I should find out tonight whether it was successful or not.

Altum Nut
03-14-2016, 08:42 PM
Fingers crossed Jay.
I am hoping that you went through some literature and YouTube vids on re-sealing a tank. The main issue is to never cut or damage silicone seal between glass panes where they adheres to one another.
I wishing you a thumbs up that all went well and no need for a shop-vac.

...Ralph

rickztahone
03-14-2016, 08:46 PM
Truth be told, when resealing, it is best to actually take apart the whole pane of glass and then reseal it. Silicone does not adhere to dried silicone, and if you leave any silicone behind, that forms a weak point in your joining of the panes. Something to keep in mind.

Jayy
03-14-2016, 10:51 PM
Thanks for the input. I did watch several videos on resealing the aquarium. At first I thought I would just be able to add some silicone over the leaky spot or just reseal one seam, but the videos I watched told me the reasoning for needing to strip every seam and reapply.