PDA

View Full Version : General signs or indicators of illness, and how to diagnose?

Jayy
04-11-2016, 01:39 PM
I'm new to discus, I've got 6 Turquoise ranging from 3.5-5" and 10 silver dollar sized Pidgeons. I've had them for a couple weeks now. As far as I can tell they are doing well, and the two largest turquoise spawned on a manzanita branch earlier this week (which I assume is a pretty good indicator of good health?).

I fish-less cycled my tank and added the Pidgeons. A few weeks later I added the turquoise, and then about 2 weeks after all the fish were finally added, I noticed a small ammonia spike that happened after I changed my filter pads (I should have changed them one at a time instead of all at once). I added Safe and a bunch of Marineland bacteria. I have a trickle filter sump with bio balls, and after this I added some well-rinsed pumice rock to the bottom of the sump to increase the media available for bacteria. So it's a wet\dry filter now. It's a 220 gallon tank and I'm running a 1350 GPH pump to turn over the water 6x an hour.

My only concerns are that the smaller Turquoise show faint stress bars still, pretty much continually, and from time to time they seem to be breathing 'heavy'. Their gills open up or flare out more while they breathe than the larger fish do.

Is that something to be concerned about?

I do 60% water changes 5x a week using a mixture of RO water and tap that is heated to about 82 degrees and treated with Safe. The tank is kept at 85-86 degrees.

I'd also like to know some general signs of illness or disease that I should be looking out for? What are the most common diseases that affect discus and the warning signs?

Phillydubs
04-11-2016, 03:51 PM
Jay,

I will try my best to answer some of your questions...