PDA

View Full Version : Khador12's 90 Gallon aquarium

Khador12
04-20-2016, 08:19 PM
1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

I have been keeping Cichlids for about 20 years. Recently a Red Devil I had for 10 years passed. At this point I decided to start keeping discus.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

The first five discus were purchased from a LFS and two of them died before I found SimplyDiscus. At this point I watched Al's video and did alot of research on SimplyDiscus.

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

29 gal, QT tank, 5 months
90 gal, Display, 4 months

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.

The 90 gal tank is bare bottom, has a 3D background, and two big peaces of driftwood.

5) Describe your water changes planned or practiced, percentage and how often. Include if you age your water and use of tap/RO or mix.

My normal water change schedule is 70% daily, unless there are fish in my QT tank. Then the QT gets 70% and the 90 gets 50% daily. I mix my water 1/3 tap to 2/3 RO in two 32 gal brute cans and age for 24hrs.

6) Describe the type of filtration planned/used for the tank; sponge, HOB and/or sump. Also include the other equipment you are, or will be, using in your tank, e.g. heater, lighting, etc.

The 90 gal. tank has an Eshoppes WD-125 wet.dry sump filter with 2 Finnex 200 watt heaters in it. Lighting: Fluval Aquasky
The QT tank has two sponge filters.