PDA

View Full Version : Big tank waterchanges

orm
05-06-2016, 09:06 AM
Hi! New to SimplyDiscus but an old timer in the aquarium hobby. I have even kept discus in the late eighties, before the Internet was around :)

I have been keeping corals and marine fish for the last 5 years but i'm restarting after moving to a house and building a 250g tank.

I understand the need for water changes to keep discus healthy and growing them out. I live a rather busy life and would like to minimize the amount of time spent on maintenance.

Basically, my question is: 7 discus in 250 gallon tank with big canister filters, can i get away with 50% weekly water changes?

Its going to be kind of community tank with substrate and DW, some corys and tetras and some hardy plants like Anubias on the DW.

Vbr
Daniel

Phillydubs
05-06-2016, 09:29 AM
Daniel,

Good morning and welcome to simply and back to the fresh water side of things!

Can you get away with it? Sure, you can get away with anything and they are your fish so their health and look is up to your care. Getting away with and successfully keeping healthy discus are two very different things.

In all honesty and not to be too blunt but when I hear you say busy life and minimize maintenance it makes me think discus are not for you as these fish require optimal husbandry for success...

That being said, if you go with large adults and can find a way to up your changes and do it 2-3 times a week, your fish will be a lot happier. Also, if you want to go minimal and still keep discus I would suggest leaving behind all the other additions and going barebottom with some drift wood and calling it a day. It will be much easier to maintain, much easier to keep debris from building up and will allow you to cut back on water changes.

Trust me, in the beginning I tried the minimalist approach... Today I go the optimal route and I am much happier with my fish and my fish are light-years ahead of previous fish where I slacked...

Filip