PDA

View Full Version : What is the easiest, most durable, discus to start with?

Holly33
08-20-2016, 07:03 PM
Hi I'm new to SD. I was wondering if anyone could help me is selecting the best discus for beginners. As can you mix angel fish with discus? Thank you.

Akili
08-20-2016, 07:50 PM
Hi Holly33,There is no easy way or shortcut for keeping Discus.Getting adults discus from one of the sponsors is a better way for a beginner.Since you are new to Discus keeping I recommend to go through the stickies’ in the Beginners Section and watch this video
https://youtu.be/VXe3VKh7qF8 it is about an hour and half long but worth hours of information
P.S. A must read thread form the beginner section http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?86009-Beginner-s-Guide-to-Getting-Started-with-Discus
After this if you have questions feel free to post them and I sure someone will help you out.
P.S Till you gain some experience in discus keeping stay away from angels.

pastry
08-20-2016, 08:11 PM
I've done some dumb stuff to discus over time and brown or brown based reds seem to be less affected than many others I've had. (Dumb stuff= missing wc's, having too light of a wc routine, dirty tank, substrate, limited diet... Pretty much stuff you shouldn't do as a discus enthusiast). You'll mess up discus regardless of strain but I've had enough over time that browns seem to be a little more tolerant of my foolishness. Growth, breeding, development-wise. That said, totally could've been a coincidence since it'd take a lot of fish and strains and a constant variable to prove. Just pick a tank raised strain to start off with from one of the sponsors here. Don't get queezy from shipping charges because you'll save $$$ in the end. Also, don't be lazy ;) ... and buy at least 6 at once

Wes
08-20-2016, 08:18 PM
What is the easiest, most durable, discus to start with? I was wondering if anyone could help me is selecting the best discus for beginners.