PDA

View Full Version : Ex-saltwater tank....?

Chipps-h2o
09-26-2016, 04:50 AM
Hi all. A complete newbie here hoping for some advice. I’ve committed to setting up a Discus tank and I have found a used aquarium for sale that I really like. It is just the right size for my living room, is modern and in really good condition at a reasonable price. However, it has previously been used for keeping saltwater fish. With the right cleaning and flushing, will it still be suitable for keeping freshwater fish or is this an absolute no no? Please excuse my lack of knowledge. Hopefully somebody with more experience can point me in the right direction. The last thing I want to do is purchase my discus only for them to come to a swift end due to my ignorance. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Filip
09-26-2016, 05:08 AM
Hi chips and welcome to this forum.
Offcourse you can reuse any used tank as long as its not leaking or damaged somehow.
Regardless of what have been previously used for ,as long as you do a proper sterilization of tank and equipment with PP(potasium permanganate) or a bleach solution , you are good to go .

I also reccomend you do a good read of the stickies in the begginer section and watch Al's + 1hour long video presentation on discus , before you take the plunge .
Good luck with your decision and start.

Chipps-h2o
09-26-2016, 10:47 PM