PDA

View Full Version : Starting out

pmkappy
10-05-2016, 07:52 PM
I have been doing research for the last 3 months and the amount of information is overwhelming. Hi, I'm getting back into Discus after 50( that's not a typo) years. My name is Paul K.,from Charleston, SC and I'm 72 years old. Here is what I think I want to do. Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Tank - 75 or 80 or 90g, drilled in back left corner with a weir. I will do an overflow pipe.(Stockman or Durso), I intend to paint the sides and bottom flat black.

Filtration - Sump refugium, 36x18x15(or there abouts. Given the costs I might build it.( I am a retired home biulder and cabinet maker. I have experience with wood and glass). I was going to use Miracle Mud II and Wisteria in the refugium.

Stand - Cabinet that I will build

I would like to do BB with 2 pieces of drift wood with some Java Ferns or Java Moss on the wood. ( I might put a 1/4" of pfs on the bottom).

I would like to put 2, 300w heaters in the refugium and a 500gph return pump. I would like to use LED lights on the tank, I can't hang anything above it. I need suggestions on size and brand.

For wc, a fellow here sells 60g Nylon pickle barrels( food safe) for $20. The tank would be within 3 feet of a window and I can syphon water right into the backyard with no problem. The barrel would be near an outdoor sillcock for refilling. I would need to put an aerator, heater and return pump in the barrel. I could then refill the tank with a switch for the pump near the tank. The winters are mild here so I think this is doable. The summers are brutal, we had 90 days of over 93 degrees. Need suggestions.

I am hopeing to have 6 Discus of 4" and grow them out. I went to several websites and saw some spectacular fish. What do you think of Kennys and Gwynnbrook Farm? Others you like?