PDA

View Full Version : Which color to choose

Sohal
10-17-2016, 10:15 AM
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post to this wonderful forum !!

I am new to Discus .

I have a 90 gal barebottom setup and I would like to buy 9 juvenile discus to raise.

Which colors(discus types) should I choose in order to have acceptable much if they breed .

For example , since we cannot sex juvenile discus could I get 2 Pigeon Blood Blue , 3 Red Turquoise, 3 Pigeon Blood Red , 1 Pigeon Blood ??

How are they muched in General

Second Hand Pat
10-17-2016, 10:42 AM
Hi John and welcome to Simply. If you are selecting strains for possible future pairing you might consider either all PBs or no PBs in the mix. Generally a PB paired with a non-PB will product heavy peppered fry. Personally I would choose whatever you like and worry about this later.
Pat

DISCUS STU
10-17-2016, 10:52 AM
Hi John and welcome.

The only way to be sure of what you may get from breeding Discus in regard to fry is to buy fish all of the same type. Regardless of the strain, Discus will usually confound you and pair up with whomever they pair up with. In other words, in a tank of beautiful fish my best looking Discus may pair up with my most aesthetically challenged, or least attractive fish as much of this is subjective to the Discus keeper and has nothing to do with Discus preferences for mating.

Even then, if pairing a mated pair of the same strain they may or not breed 100% true. Breeding Discus of different strains produced this, a Red Turquoise male to a Red Mellon Pigeon Blood female gave me results that were all over the place and were very interesting. 40% resembled the Red Turquoise father, 50% looked like the Red Mellon mother (though more orange) and the other 10% looking like neither one of them.