PDA

View Full Version : fish dying, help!

FishyRobert
10-22-2016, 04:28 PM
Hi! have a problem.

have had 5 discus, 2 red had for many months, and 3 turquoise had for 2 weeks. very happy in a 40 gallon with Fluvalfilter and one large sponge filter.

yesterday, moved them to a 65 gallon, fits on the same stand, taller tank. removed sponge filter, kept Fluvial 406 filter

this morning one dying. red

just now, another red dead

3 turquoise gasping at top.

for air???

water OK and 84 degrees, could it be that the tank is TALLER, less oxygen?????

so i put TWO large sponge filters in, and an air hose bubbling the water. hope to save them.

the water i used yesterday was aged, and dechlorinated. i am not a beginner with fish.

HELP

any ideas?

bob:(

nc0gnet0
10-22-2016, 04:34 PM
removed sponge filter, kept Fluvial 406 filter

There's your problem right there. Your sponge filter was responsible for more that 75% of your bio filtration is my guess. It's removal caused an ammonia and nitrite spike. Change water, change it now, and change a lot.

FishyRobert
10-23-2016, 06:37 AM
thank you Ncogneto! will do. i am surprised, the fluvial 406 has that bio max filter media, should have TONS of bacteria!!!! i thought that 5 discus in a 65 would be pretty safe!!!!
what size tank do YOU have, how many fish, what filter, water changes?

thanks so much. bob

Second Hand Pat
10-23-2016, 08:21 AM
Robert, sorry about the dead fish. Something to remember is there is only enough beneficial bacteria to support your bio-load (your fish) and you removed more than half of it. Now several large water changes are needed to save the fish as Rick suggested. Grab a water sample before the water change and measure the ammonia and nitrite when you get a chance. You will need to do a large water changes for about a week until the bacterial can catch up with your bio-load.
Pat

FishyRobert
10-23-2016, 09:56 AM