PDA

View Full Version : 75 gal Simple Grow Out

Doc Andrew
10-26-2016, 10:21 PM
Greetings SD,

I've decided to document my latest project. I've enjoyed lurking around this forum for years, but it's time to put myself out there. I figure we all learn through sharing. Go easy on me :p

Background
I've been keeping discus for around 7 years. I consider myself more learned/knowledgable than experienced if you know what I mean.
Originally, I had 4 Wayne Ng maze and red cover/PE cross from Bob Garside at Upper Canada Discus.
When I moved I went with a batch of Stendkers from Hans. I still have a BSS, Marlborough, Flachen x SS, and RPB in a 46 gal bowfront. All are healthy and eat like pigs.
Over the years I've killed a few fish, successfully treated tapeworms and other parasites (due to LFS contamination and poor WC habits), battled a crazy work/life schedule and still managed to grow out 2.5-3 inch fish to a solid 6 inches on both occasions. Ive never attempted any breeding, however, I want to in the near future if I can budget the time.
This time I'm aiming to streamline my approach. I'm done with hauling buckets across the dining room and kitchen to get to a sink. I've been making it too hard on myself for years.

New Project
75 gal BB with stand purchased used on Kijiji. Tank was disinfected with bleach, and a neat little sandpaper trick I learned from SD helped take off the calcium deposits. Stand was sanded down and sprayed with rust-proof paint.
I will not be adding anything to this tank. I've had such bad luck adding plants and such to tanks. I always get parasites and mass amounts of diatoms. I especially hate scraping copious amounts of algae every few days.
Tank is located directly next to a wash basin. This is key for me.
DIY K1 moving bed, 2 bio filters (large and small sponges). Two air pumps to run them. I may require an upgrade on one pump.