PDA

View Full Version : Questions about set up a discus tank for the first time

Juanperez147
10-28-2016, 05:01 PM
Hello, my name Juan Perez, I'm from Costa Rica is a small Central american country. 3 years ago I started with the hobby, with tetras, and 2 years ago I have cichlids Americans (chocolate , Maya, various types of severum, nicaguensis, various types of vieja, oscar, etc).
I bought a new tank and want to start with discus. I have no experience with discus. I do not want breeding. I have not even started cycling or set up de tank.

My tank is 48 "long, 18" wide and 22 "high, around 100 gallons.

I think BB and put to use drywood, with some anubias.

I think for filtering using two sump, one with Kaldnes (6 gallons), another with ceramic rings, bio balls, etc.

After read simplydiscus, and see several videos, I get me some questions and I would appreciate you help me:

I would like to introduce cardenales and some tank mates, they must be screen before or after arriving the discus?

Is recommendable use filters with ultraviolet light?

Is recommendable use activated carbon filter?

When discus are juveniles which is a recommendable difference in size of the fish?

atlantadiscus
10-28-2016, 05:20 PM
6 gallons of K1 Kaldness should provide plenty of surface area for your setup as long as it is moving freely and kept clean with good pre filtration- not sure I would set up a second sump at all? UV is beneficial only if done correctly,generally those filters that include a cute little uv light are not effective or worth anything.Carbon,Purigen,or other forms of chemical filtering are a personal,individual choice-some use them,others do not.I would go Discus only in the tank if it is your first time.

Juanperez147
10-28-2016, 05:35 PM
Thank you very much for the reply. I'll take your advice. I thought two sump to have high redundancy. Also I thought of using some aquaponics, but I do not if it is to add risk.

Thanks again.

atlantadiscus
10-28-2016, 06:14 PM