PDA

View Full Version : Sump project

olsibejta
11-01-2016, 01:18 PM
Hi to every one,
Im new in this forum but have about 2 years following the rules publucate in here for dicsus care.
I may tell that im new in discus, but i have 2 years keeping discus in a 240 litre tank with canister filter fluval 306 and have had no problem till i have installed a RO system.
Im planing to DIY a 450 litre tank in dimension 200 cm x 40 cm x60 cm high, but as i do not have experience in Sump filtration, i'm asking this forum in sump dimensions for this tank, materilas to use, return pump, installation from aquarium to sump because the aquarium will be as a divider for kitchen and staying room with a stand of 87 cm high ..
So my questions are :
1.dimension of a sump
2.sump design
3.materials to use in the sump
4.inflow and outflow positions and pipes
5.return pump.

Im open at any ideas for now for aquarium dimension or any other thing because i have not initiate to build any thing till now, i thing that a 450 litre tank will acomodate perfectly 10 discus and other tank mates of them. Till now i have had no experience with sump's, i have used only canister filters. Atached is an idea what I want to build. Thanks.

Filip
11-01-2016, 05:17 PM
Hi Olsi and welcome to Simply discus . Its great that you have decide to join and post to forum after 2 years long learning experience .
Im curious about your bad experience with your discus after you have installed your RO unit . What happend to them and why you think your RO unit caused the troubles?

As for your questions regarding sump build, im not experienced with sump since i also use caniter filter, so i hope others here will help you more than i can .
All i can say is that i encourage you to do a sump as it is much more efficient filtration than canister is . It holds much more water for the system, more space for materials and much easier maintenance .

As for your questions:

1. General rule is - The bigger the better :) .