PDA

View Full Version : found Discus in Michigan pet store and have questions! pics!

Pompadour Discus
11-05-2016, 06:57 PM
Hi everyone! My name is Aja and I am new to Discus. Just bought a 75 gallon tank and will be setting it up and cycling it within the next few weeks and hopefully can order from Kenny by February��.

Before today I had never actually seen Discus in person I fell in love with them on YouTube and no one in MI kept them in stock I tried many times to just see them live and in person, low and behold on a random trip to a pet store today this owner had tons of them. Apparently some rich guy had them and got overwhelmed, he complained of over breeding and that he spent so much time on them.

They do not look in bad shape, some look good actually. My issue is since I'm so new I can't trust my judgment, I think they look pretty good but I don't have anything to compare it to yet. Also I read somewhere about peppering and it didn't sound good, I still haven't figured out exactly what that is my guess is the little black spots I noticed on couple of their faces. He does have a breeding pair he is will to sell to me for $400 for the pair. I will try to upload pics. My questions are, can you tell from the pics if these are good? I see the mood bars he said they were stressed because he just got them and out them in their new tank. I'm still learning about the mood bars but know they don't always mean anything bad. What about these do you see should be something to watch out for? Some of these are were huge easily 7 inches. I want to get a couple his prices aren't cheap but still very reasonable. What do you think? Would you purchase one of them?103755

Last pic is of the breeding pairs I'm going to try to attach more in another reply.

Pompadour Discus
11-05-2016, 07:01 PM

I have a few more pics if that isn't enough or aren't clear enough.

Pompadour Discus
11-05-2016, 07:04 PM