PDA

View Full Version : Hi all! My First Discus Tank Planning Stage -- HELP ME*

DYDave82
01-12-2017, 05:25 AM
1) Hello friends, I’m DYDave82. I’ve been an aquatic enthusiast for nearly three years now. I started the hobby very humbly keeping loaches. My first 15g Top Fin quickly became the five aquariums I keep today. I have heavily planted: 20g long, 46g bow front, and a 90g all well stocked with common to very rare rainbow fish, loaches, and pleco’s. I also have a DIY nano reef tank = 12g Fluval Edge that everyone told me would be impossible to keep stable without a seriously expensive setup that’s going clean and strong for over a year now. (Proud of that one :grin:)

2) I have no previous experience-keeping discus. I have watched many youtube videos about Discus keeping (I luv DIY and Dustin’s) and have read many posts here since recently joining the forum. :book:

3) Today marks the three-week mark of the start of my newest project: the conversion of an old drilled reef tank, specifically a 92g corner bow front that I’ve sealed and cycled thoroughly. I refinished and reinforced the old oak stand; it looks new now. The glass is in great shape except for the bottom that is all scratched up from many years of live rock scraping about. It’s filled with fresh Florida well water and has been cycled with a bio wheel from a Marineland 350.

4) I have a huge hollowed trunk of driftwood waterlogging under a boulder in the pond in the back yard. And yes, the plan is to make the driftwood the centerpiece for the new tank. Otherwise there is a thin layer of white sand on the bottom. No plants are planned for this tank in the near future. I was thinking of hiding the heater in the back-drilled reservoir that’s been plugged to give it a super clean look.