PDA

View Full Version : Tap Water to Tank?

cjvdhx
03-21-2017, 11:08 PM
Greetings! I am fairly new to keeping discus I have a 65 gallon planted tank with 4 stendker discus with plans to add 2 more in the upcoming weeks. I've been keeping fish now for awhile and I've always just used a python and refilled with it directly from my tap however some people warned me about doing this with discus thus I am seeking advice from people that have first hand experience. I know some claim water conditioners like microbe lift extreme and prime work instantly but I'm hesitant about it. I've also noticed that after filling my tank directly from the tap I get these little gas bubbles that stick along side the tank however disappear 45 minutes later. Whats everyone's advice? Thx

alron2
03-22-2017, 12:12 AM
Welcome CJ. How much difference is there between yor tap water PH and your aquarium, don't guess measure it and report back. Do you have any form of chlorine in your water? If so, do you have a carbon filter on it? The bubbles are probable co2
Realizing from the water, if so I suspect your tap ph is lower than your aquarium ph. I am sure you will get plenty of advise on this.
Ron

cjvdhx
03-22-2017, 12:42 AM
Welcome CJ. How much difference is there between yor tap water PH and your aquarium, don't guess measure it and report back. Do you have any form of chlorine in your water? If so, do you have a carbon filter on it? The bubbles are probable co2
Realizing from the water, if so I suspect your tap ph is lower than your aquarium ph. I am sure you will get plenty of advise on this.
Ron

Ron thanks for your help! there is not much difference in the PH from the tap and my tank maybe .2-.4 at the very most. Yes I am pretty sure the water has chloramine in it and no I do not have a carbon filter. I found this in a thread on here I was searching and was wondering if this would work?