PDA

View Full Version : New to the family need alot of help.Please

Yamyort
04-09-2017, 02:03 PM
Hello I'm Troy from Virginia.First thanks so much for having me. I'm brand new to simply discus and to fish tanks in general.I thought I was smart jumped on the Web did a ton of research and decided there was no fish I wanted other then the majestic discus.So with permission from the boss (My beautiful wife) I headed out bought a 73 gallon bow front,an emperor 400 filter,a 200 watt heater with a gravel substrate and 1 piece of driftwood and a led light strip .Set it all up cycled it for 2 weeks.Then went and bought 7 candy cane tetras and 3 plants and 1 pleco.Ran it for 2 more weeks checking all levels and doing 20% water changes every other day.I so wish I would have found yall first because the next step I'm sure will make yall cringe.I went from fish store to fish store buying random discus adding them at different times.I have 5 in total 4 under 2 inches 1 about 4.My whole family quickly fell in LOVE with them.Some how they are doing well after reading some of the horror stories on juvenile discus.But I want them not to do well but to live long happy healthy lives so I beg of yall to get me in order.I read some of the planted/none planted threads on here and it kinda scares me the passionate debate yall have.I'm going to list my problems/questions any help will be taken serious and with great thanks.

1.Is 3 plants a planted tank?
2.My levels stay around amm .5,ph 7,nitrate 0,nitrite 0. I have been doing every other day 50% water change and I can not get the amm.to budge and I'm sure this is my biggest enemy
3. I keep my temperature around 84.Is heater placement critical? see them in many places
4.I feed them frozen blood worms and live black worms and flakes.Is one better then another?
5.Should I purchase a 2nd emperor 400?
6.Have my led set to 16 hours on 8 hours off good or bad?