PDA

View Full Version : Shooting for 10 years on 100g tank!

goldfish
05-17-2017, 11:05 PM
Hi I am new to keeping to discus tank. I am hoping to keep my discus serviving for 10 years.

DatDiscusDude
05-18-2017, 09:59 AM
Aren't we all ;) !!!

Welcome and best of luck!

rickztahone
05-20-2017, 07:48 PM
Hello goldfish. I see you are a long time member like myself :).

Discus can certainly survive a long time. I'm not sure if 10yrs is achievable, but they will survive for a long time if you take care of them properly

goldfish
05-22-2017, 01:38 AM
Hi Rick

Thank you for your response. I think it is achievable if I am conservative and consistent with my water changes. I am currently if feeding my 20 discus with frozen blood warm and real beef and shrimp mixes that is okay for human consumption. They grow big really fast.

goldfish
07-08-2017, 11:10 PM

goldfish
07-08-2017, 11:27 PM

goldfish
07-08-2017, 11:32 PM

EJ_B
07-09-2017, 12:00 AM
I would suggest being very liberal and consistant with your water changes. 20 adult discus is a lot for a 100 gal. Do you plan on getting rid of some at some point? Also the substrate you have will trap a lot of debris and will not be optimal for the growth of your fish.

goldfish
07-09-2017, 03:48 AM
Thank you for wonderful concerns. Most of my discus are from 2to 3 inches when I brought them. After 3to 4 months, they are about 4to 5 inches. Keeping discus happy and growing are very important. I do wc every 3 to 4 days about 25 percent from tapped water without chemical.

brewmaster15
07-09-2017, 08:22 AM
Hello,
10 years is a very good goal but might be possible with good care. Id avoid adding anything else to the tank livestock wise. With your waterchanges and tank size your tank is pretty heavily stocked. I would also caution you to be careful feeding that beefheart with substrate like you have. Its really hard to keep it clean .