PDA

View Full Version : Am i ready to take the plunge?

MaryStephens
05-21-2017, 05:29 PM
Hello... I am new to the discus hobby and have been doing a lot research. I was hoping I could get some input from the more experienced here on whether my tank is ready for discus.

I have a 55 gallon tank (I don't have room to go larger) running and cycled. I have a Eheim professional 4 canister filter, fluval aqua clear filter, 2 eheim heaters & eheim air pump with 2 bubblers.

My water parameter are as follows: PH - 7.2 ; Ammonia, Nitrite & Nitrate - 0 ; KH - 3 ; GH - 4

My tank is bare bottom with 2 pieces of congo wood, some rocks and plants planted in glass jars with pool filter sand. I have 5 lemon tetras, 10 neon tetras (I know these could become a snack) and 2 cory cats.

I'm hoping to get 5 - 4" discus from DiscusHans in a couple of months.

All opinions & suggestions welcomed! Thank you!

MaryStephens
05-21-2017, 07:16 PM
I would really appreciate some responses.

two utes
05-21-2017, 07:26 PM
Sounds like you are good to go Mary Beth.

Good luck with your new venture.

Ryan925
05-21-2017, 07:29 PM
Sounds good to me too

Neptune
05-21-2017, 07:37 PM
You say your nitrates are at zero, you should have some nitrates if your tank is cycled. How did you cycle it and how long?

DatDiscusDude
05-21-2017, 07:38 PM
Seems like you are off to a good start.

What temp are you keeping things at? What are your plans for water changes once they come in? If you can push it go the extra inch and get 5".

MaryStephens
05-21-2017, 08:08 PM
Thank you for the responses.
My water temp is about 84-86.
I plan on doing water changes maybe 3-4x a week.

I used microlobe to start cycling and dose about 1x week. It's been going probably 3 weeks. I'm not planning to get the discus until August; first, i want the tank to be good and cycled and second, I have multiple trips planned in the next couple of months and want to wait till after those.

MaryStephens
05-21-2017, 08:26 PM
thanks so much!