PDA

View Full Version : Can someone please help me with my discus?

Lemon94
03-31-2018, 01:42 PM
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on a forum but I really need help with one of my discus. I am new to the discus hobby and I have had my discus for over 2 months now. I have a total of 8 discus in my 75 gallon planted tank. My ammonia, nitrite are always 0 and my nitrates stay between 5-10 as I do a 25% water change every single day.

So, at first when I got my fish, I was battling a bacterial infection as everyone was rapidly breathing, clamping one fin and not eating. I treated with furan-2 and after that every single one of my discus started acting normally, breathing better with no more clamped fins and has been great ever since then. However, I have this one blue discus, that remained sick even after treatment. So I looked for the symptoms and the symptoms are, loss of appetite, hiding behind plants or hanging out near the surface (I have a circulation pump, air stones and a spraybar and I did turn those on to increase oxygen in the tank but no good), turns really black in color, and has lost so much weight. Also, on all my fish I have noticed their pooping is white stringy poop. The poop is really long, mostly white, sometimes multiple white strings come out of my fish at a time. So after a few days I decided to treat again, but this time to use General Cure as the symptoms led me to believe it was heximita/ parasites. I am on my second dose, (3rd day) and tomorrow is when treatment ends according to the box. However, the blue discus is still not feeling better. It sometimes gets it color back, then loses it and turns black. Hangs out near the surface and doesn't eat. (my other discus swim to me when I am about to fed, the blue one couldn't care less).