PDA

View Full Version : java fern and anubius question

matt2426
05-06-2018, 09:41 PM
I'm new to planted tanks I never gave it a try but I'm thinking about adding some java fern and Anubis to my driftwood and maybe a few amazon swords from the info I was reading most of the plants live in about 82 degrees max it says. I keep my temp in my tank between 85 to 86 is it going to be a problem keeping those plant in 86 degree water do I need to lower my temp a little or would they be fine with my current temp thanks

Disgirl
05-07-2018, 07:47 AM
I grow all 3 in my discus tanks, only the Java Fern seems to prefer cooler water. The others do great. My tank is 86. I use heavy duty polyester thread to attach the Anubias. Swords go into pots of gravel. Good luck.
Barb

Filip
05-07-2018, 05:24 PM
No problem at all, as long as you provide them with sufficient light , and pot , at least Echinodorus in an nutrient rich soil/ substrate pot. Other 2 also benefit from rooting in nutrient rich soil but can be kept atached on a driftwood .

RuinerM3
05-07-2018, 11:38 PM
I have Java Fern and 3 types of anubias in my tank and all 3 are doing great. Kept at 84deg +/- .5 deg.

matt2426
05-08-2018, 04:28 AM
ok thanks for the responses guys so im going to give it a shot do you guys use any kind of special treatment for java fern or anubias are any chemicals needed to be added or can i just tie them on driftwood and let them do there thing I see seachem sells products like flourish is that stuff necessary for ferns and anubias id appreciate any tips thank you

lastflea
05-12-2018, 03:56 PM
do you guys use any kind of special treatment for java fern or anubias are any chemicals needed to be added or can i just tie them on driftwood and let them do there thing I see seachem sells products like flourish is that stuff necessary for ferns and anubias id appreciate any tips thank you