PDA

View Full Version : Is this ich?

Hybrid_Reality
05-26-2018, 09:12 PM
Had my little discus for over 2 weeks now. Noticed a white spot on his dorsal fin. He is un-bothered by it, but it concerns me. He is the only discus in the tank and the other fish look normal. Im new to the hobby and am doing my best to take best care of the tank.
Tank is 38 gallons
2 Penguin 200gph filters
No carbon
Ceramic media in filter
20% WC every other day
Temp is 83.5-84F
Any suggestions?

Edit- not sure why this site gives me a hard time to

bluelagoon
05-27-2018, 09:07 AM
I would suggest larger more frequent WC's.Pimples usually are a sign of water quality.It would be a good idea to show a pic of the whole tank for a better understanding of what things look like.A substrate cleaning if you have one will need cleaning just about each time you change water.20% WC is not much for young discus.Some times when folks here something they don't like or understand,they might think somebody is giving them a "hard time".Sometimes it's your own mood/feelings and may be read wrong and not the way it was intended by the writer.

brewmaster15
05-27-2018, 09:37 AM
I would suggest larger more frequent WC's.Pimples usually are a sign of water quality.It would be a good idea to show a pic of the whole tank for a better understanding of what things look like.A substrate cleaning if you have one will need cleaning just about each time you change water.20% WC is not much for young discus.Some times when folks here something they don't like or understand,they might think somebody is giving them a "hard time".Sometimes it's your own mood/feelings and may be read wrong and not the way it was intended by the writer.

I agree with Mervin on the water quality issues and suggestions.

Mervin, I suspect (and hope to be the case) that the op means" the site gives him a hard time to" post his pics?