PDA

View Full Version : Sick Discus, white spots on the body and rotting fins and tail

jopgo
05-27-2018, 10:00 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Discus hobby and I encounter this problem (see photos) and I don't know how to treat it.

Before I thought it was Ich so I tried several medications i.e. ParaGuard, Nox Ich for several weeks.

Can someone identify & help me how to cure this? Is this contagious?

Thank you very much for your help.

-Jopgo

RogueDiscus
05-27-2018, 10:20 PM
Hi Jopco and welcome to Simply Discus. Sorry you're having trouble. Conditions like this are often the result of water quality issues. Can you tell us more about your tank set up, other fish, filtration, and what your water change regimen is. That will folks more to go on.

jopgo
05-28-2018, 01:51 AM
Hi Jopco and welcome to Simply Discus. Sorry you're having trouble. Conditions like this are often the result of water quality issues. Can you tell us more about your tank set up, other fish, filtration, and what your water change regimen is. That will folks more to go on.

Hi,

Thank you for your quick response and for welcoming me.

I have the ff set up/info:

37 gallons aquarium bare bottom
6 discus fish 3"-4"
4 angel fish (small size)
1 pleco
Penn-Plax cascade -100gals canister filter (every week I clean this)
Water change every other 2-3 days
Feeding schedule 3x a day (every meal 3 cubes bloodworm and tetra color granules)

I only have this problem on my that single discus, others don't show any sign of infection/disease.
Should I separate this discus?

Thank you again. Appreciate your help.

Jopgo

brewmaster15
05-28-2018, 08:03 AM
Hi,
I would set up a hospital tank and do a salt dip on this fish &place it in the hospital tank.I agree with Steve its probably water quality but it looks like the fish is developing bacteria issues. If the salt dip doesnt clear that up I would use something like furan 2. Pretty sure a dip and clean water will work.