PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus and the Forum

Jody
09-07-2018, 04:18 PM
Hello Simply,

My name is Jody, and I am new to the Discus hobby. I have been researching Discus for some months now by lurking forums, watching YouTube videos (King of DIY et al.), and have finally taken the plunge.

On 9/12 I will be receiving 2 Blue Diamond discus (3in~) and 3 Leopard Turquoise (3.5in~) from Uncle Sam's Discus out in L.A.

They will have 4 cory catfish companions, 2 albino corys, and 2 bronze corys.

My current tank setup is a 40 gallon breeder display tank, and a 40 gallon breeder sump bringing the total water volume to somewhere around 70~ gallons.

I have some filter socks, bags of biological media, and 2 biocenosis clarification baskets for anoxic filtration (experimenting).

Water temp is 84 degrees, ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates are all very low near 0, PH is 7.0 and GH is about 60ppm.

I am happy to have joined the forum and community and hope to attend NADA maybe in 2019 if it all works out to meet some folks.

Any pearls of advice for a new hobbyist are very welcome!

Jody-

RogueDiscus
09-07-2018, 04:27 PM
Hi Jody and welcome to SD.
Uncle Sam's is one of our sponsors, so good choice :)
Thanks for sharing your set up info. Others may assume this from your setup, but it's not my specialty. Is your tank planted, with a substrate? With the juvies you are expecting, the main recommendations/or question you will hear are likely about water changes; what's you plan, the more the better. We also like pics :)

Steve

LizStreithorst
09-07-2018, 04:30 PM
Welcome to Simply!

The catfish may not like the high temps. Sterbai's would be be a better choice, or you might consider some Bristle Nose Plecos (They stay small).

You have chosen a good importer. My advice to you it to keep it simple, feed often, and do lots of WC's with stable water. Do those things and your fish will be happy, healthy and grow big.

Best of luck to you!

Jody
09-07-2018, 09:03 PM