PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else keep freshwater shrimp?

LizStreithorst
07-24-2020, 09:09 PM
A few friends and I on another forum have gotten on a shrimp bender. I already have red and blue neo's and I'll have yellows on the way Monday. They're fun, but take my advice and buy from a US breeder.

danotaylor
07-25-2020, 02:29 AM
I don't have any shrimp atm Liz, but back in Australia I had 2 10gal planted tanks with shrimp sand (pH adjusting), 1 tank with crystal black shrimp, and the other w crystal red's. They're def sensitive to pH swings...a little like discus, lol, but lots of fun to keep when they settle in an begin to reproduce! Once we move into our new place I'd like to get a shrimp tank again :thumbsup:

LizStreithorst
07-25-2020, 07:34 AM
I adore the crystal reds but when I looked into their temp and pH requirements I decided they wouldn't work for me.

Iminit
07-25-2020, 10:05 AM
Hi Liz! I’ve been keeping shrimp for about 2 years now. Red blue and orange. Was using the culled shrimp as food for my discus. I now have a colony growing in the discus tank. During water changes I usually find 20+ in the waste water. Unfortunately it really adds time to water changes :rolleyes2: I also haven’t tried the crystal shrimp. At one time I had 3 tanks worth of shrimp. Added some Pygmy Cory’s to one tank and they pretty much wiped it out. Didn’t see that coming.
They were fun at first but I guess with the discus things changed.

LizStreithorst
07-25-2020, 10:37 AM
I tried to feed mine to the Discus and for the longest time the Discus ignored them and they started breeding. One day for no apparent reason the Discus developed a taste for them and no more shrimp on the Discus tank.

Iminit
07-25-2020, 12:10 PM