PDA

View Full Version : pls. help me dude

cheguevarra
10-10-2002, 04:18 AM
hi i'm so happy that i've found this website guys i really need your help cause i'm planning to get back to my hobby again which is discus keeping this would be my second attempt in keeping this variety of fish cause the first one didn't went up nicely. I first kept it back in 1999 but unfortunately they all died of some fungal desease all i can say is that their bodies were covered with white somewhat slimmy crap and the other one wow the head is just rotting man so i need all the help that i can get so that i could back to my favorite hobby with joy and happiness, and not end up losing all that i've worked for so guys i need your help by giving me tips on regarding basic care, desease prevention, diagnosis and cure and water condition for optimal growth pls. guys i need your help and maybe i could return back the favor in case u ask something that i some knowledge cause i'm currently studying marine biology so guy hope to read your replies sooon

April
10-10-2002, 08:51 AM
hi. welcome. perhaps this should be in general.....more responses.
glad your trying again.
first thing id do is get a nice group from one breeder and all at one time.
not 3 here and 2 here etc. safer for not getting viruses.

and get a group of 6 or more. how big is your tank?
tell us what you have in mind...and you will get lots of good advice.

where do you live? check out the banners here. mike(a discus dream) and cary(great lakes discus) are great....if you want to do an order to be shipped. they both have taught me alot and taken the time to help me out. they can also help you along the way...if you have questions.
they post on the forum.

DarkDiscus
10-10-2002, 09:53 AM
Che,

I'd suggest that you read as much of the site as you possibly can, then formulate some specific questions.

General discus rules are:

1) Lots of Water changes. Perferably 20+% daily.
2) 1 fish per 10 gallons stocking levels.