PDA

View Full Version : researchin

engineguy129
11-10-2002, 04:43 PM
Hello everyone,
Almost finished with my reseach........still reading everyday, I believe even years for now I will still be learning about discus, same with my job (jet engines) after 11 years USAF I am still learning. Well on with it I am looking at a good setup for discus for my 150 gallon in the worx, what is a good community?? I read various other websites and information I gather from simply discus and most of it is conflicting, I usually try to aim straight down the middle from information from different parties. Can I keep German Blue Rams with Discus or should I keep discus with only a couple of cory's?? I have read that most cory's cannot thrive in a discus tank(heat and ph) but I hear that people are doing it. Here is what I am planning about 6-8 discus, 4-6 rams, 4 cory's (still deciding on strain), and a bristlenose pleco. I know everyone has their own way of doing things that works for them.........please help....................Rob

engineguy129
11-10-2002, 04:49 PM
this is one of the acticle I found that really threw me off.

http://www.dph.nl/sub-article/cat-01/community.shtml

korbi_doc
11-10-2002, 04:59 PM
:bounce2: :bounce2: Hey Rob, I keep Cory Jullii with my discus, 4 huge & healthy in the 90g, & 5 more going into the 125g. Presently have 20 baby Bolivian Rams growin' like mad in the 37g QT preparing to go into the discus tanks. Not all of course, so some will have their own tank. They are adapting well in the same water & temp of 86*. Should make great tankmates. go for it!! Dottie 8) 8) 8)

RandalB
11-10-2002, 05:59 PM
I keep C. Paleatus with mine at 85 F with no problems. Rams are also good tankmates.

RandalB

April
11-10-2002, 06:30 PM
i have one catfish in my discus tank and fine. had to take him out when i used salt though.
but hes been doing fine. they totally ignore him.

korbi_doc
11-10-2002, 06:40 PM