PDA

View Full Version : discus-newbie

watergate
11-11-2002, 02:32 PM
:-[
HI. I'm a newbie in discus rearing but i love discus alot. Can somebody please help me with some of my problems.
i've a 3 feet fully planted tank with lots of cardinal tetras, cherry barbs,rummynose, 2 loaches and a couple of other small fishes.
Recently i wanted to keep a couple of discus in the tank. My questions are:
-Will the discus eat up my smaller fishes?(I wish to buy discus about 3inches to start off first)
-Will the discus distroy the plants?
-Will my small fishes attack the discus?
i appreciate ur help......thanks
I have saw previous record and there seems to be a mix of report saying discus will eat tetras and some saying will not. Kinda confuse already.

DarkDiscus
11-11-2002, 02:44 PM
Watergate,

Welcome to the site!

To answer your questions - yes, discus will eat smaller fish. Not all discus and not all the time, but if they can catch the fish, they will take the opportunity. They are not really skilled at it and your losses would likely be minimal.

Discus will not destroy plants.

No, the small fish will not attack discus.

If this is something you are really interested in doing, my suggestion is to read the plants section of this forum and learn as much as possible about discus prior to making the purchase.

Let us know how it goes!

John

daninthesand
11-11-2002, 05:14 PM
Hi Watergate! :wave:

Welcome to the site, and the world of discus keeping.

My only experience with the specific question regarding discus eating smaller fish was when I had a tank with adult discus (~5 inches) and introduced a bunch of cardinal tetras. This was a bare bottom tank with no plants or rocks or anything for the smaller fish to hide. For about 5 days everything was great. Everybody seemed happy. The discus pretty much ignored the cardinals.