PDA

View Full Version : Color Feeding

Carol_Roberts
11-22-2002, 03:51 AM
These two pictures will illustrate how feeding axastanthin (sp?) can bring out the red in your discus.

This first shot is a recent picture of a pb male fed only cbw, ONF 1 flake and color bits.
CArol :heart1:

Carol_Roberts
11-22-2002, 03:53 AM
Old shot, same fish color fed. See all the red?

Ivan
11-22-2002, 12:17 PM
nice wall paper!!lol :D
oh and fish.
Ivan

allan_mark76
11-22-2002, 08:03 PM
Carol_Roberts I was wondering where did you get the axastanthin and how did you administer it in your feeding. I'm new to axastanthin so I'm totally clueless.... BTW very nice vibrant colors in the pixs... also the wallpaper :o

Thanks.

A-

Ivan
11-22-2002, 08:46 PM
Spirulina is a good source, add 1 to 2 table spoons per 2lb of beef heart.HTH

Carol_Roberts
11-22-2002, 11:41 PM
I got it from Ray at Discus Hawaii. It's a red powder you mix in food like beefheart. I don't feed beefheart anymore. I have nothing against colorfeeding. I just like how clean my tanks stay feeding cbw instead of beefheart.

Debo
11-24-2002, 10:40 AM
Does paparika have the same effect as astaxanthan ? Carrol what do mix yours in if you don't use beef heart any more?
DebO

Carol_Roberts
11-24-2002, 01:54 PM
Paprika has some effect, but not as much as axastanthin. I don't feed it anymore.

The ONF1 flake and tetra bits I do feed have a little red. All my fish just have their natural colors right now.

Carol :heart1:

11-28-2002, 05:26 PM
Ever tried mixing a bit of the color enhancing powder in your worm water?

fcdiscus
11-29-2002, 12:59 AM
Yeah then maybe you could have California red worms! ;D Frank

11-29-2002, 12:28 PM
HEY!! I'm trying to ask a scientific question here. Serious replies only, worm water is important to me. (Ten buck says you'll try it Frank, LOL!!!) Bill

hunterbeav
11-29-2002, 02:00 PM