PDA

View Full Version : Introductions are in order..

ChloroPhil
11-25-2002, 02:55 PM
Hi folks!

My name is Phil, I live in Charlotte, NC. I'm a teacher turning full time aquarium designer/maintainer and am an avid afficianado of planted aquaria. I've kept planted tanks for the past five years and have loved every minute of it. My primary interest is in keeping biotope aquariums but I've been known to have a more decorative tank now and then too.

Lately I've been thinking of keeping some discus and was told that this is *the* place to be for discus info. I've already read a bunch of posts and am going to love the whole Planted vs. Bare Bottom rivalry. I believe strongly in keeping planted aquaria..:)

I look forward to a long association with y'all and to learning a lot in the process and would like to apologize in advance if I seem "lectury" at times...it's the teacher coming out in me.

Best,
Phil

Ralph
11-25-2002, 03:29 PM
Hi Phil,
I don't remember a newbie having so many posts on their first day!
Welcome to Simply and welcome to the planted section.
I'm not sure that you want to get into the whole "BB vs. PT" thing. It's not the key to popularity around here, at least on the planted tank side. There are some people here that won't "talk" to me because of the things I've said.
There is a lot of good info here though (I spent a month reading posts before I got my first discus, and I barely scratched the surface) and some real nice people that will go out of their way to help you if they can.
I've got a thing for biotopes too and my next tank is going to be an attempt at making a discus biotope. There are some problems though, maybe you can help.
I'm going to read all your posts now, glad to have you here.

PS I spent a week in Charlotte in the 80's. Great place!

Don_Lee
11-25-2002, 04:02 PM
Welcome to the board Phil! Sounds like you will be a great source of knowledge for all of us, great to have you here.

Don

ChloroPhil
11-25-2002, 04:31 PM