PDA

View Full Version : Does quality Really Matter in a Discus?

11-28-2002, 07:54 PM
Ok a little pole just to see how many of us really do care.
lately it seems Quality is not the issiue here but lets find out! Before I send out my next order.

TakeCare, + Thanks
Cary Gld!

Don_Lee
11-28-2002, 08:30 PM
Great idea for a poll Cary. I know that my problem is that I am still learning about what quality really is. I have read lots of books, looked at lots of pics, and had the pleasure of speaking with some very knowledgeable people like Cary. However, I still know I have alot to learn, but I always want the best quality I can afford. I enjoy buying juveniles, so I have not run in to cost being too limiting yet. Personally, I do not want to buy anything from someone I feel may not be selling high quality.....a big reason this board is so helpful.

Don ;D

DHDiscusMan
11-28-2002, 09:06 PM
Personally, I think that drive for better and better quality fish is partly a function of dedication (obsession) to the hobby itself. When I first started an aquarium just over a year ago, it was my first. I went to the fish shop and just loved the discus they had there.

My first fish therefore were the lower quality LFS fish (which were also very expensive) but I didn't know what other options were available. As I've read some of the books along with this and other websites I have learned more about what to look for in terms of quality. At the same time, however, I am still probably on the beginning side of "intermediate" in terms of my knowledge and collection of discus.