PDA

View Full Version : Unstable PH

nalah
12-09-2002, 07:15 PM
my tank water is at 6.5.
my aging water is at 6.5.
but ... i do wc and the next day,tank Ph drops to 5.5. WHY?

chavez720
12-10-2002, 10:46 AM
What is the kH? This is a measure of the buffering capacity of the water. Below 3° and there will not be enough buffering to keep a steady pH and wild swings are possible.

nalah
12-10-2002, 04:04 PM
Thanks Chavez,
i am still new to this hobby.
so far,i am keeping my fish healthy and alive.now,i have to learn more about their water.
still a bit confused about the term " buffering"
???

chavez720
12-10-2002, 05:02 PM
Capacity of a system to resist change. With water this is usually accomplished by a Carbonic acid (HCO3)/ Carbonate(CO3) system (weak acid/weak base). The carbonate can be measured in °kH. Lower the kH the less resistance the water has to changes in pH. Not enough buffering (°kH) is why pH crashes happen - fish respire adding CO2, decomposition of detritus, other metabolic processes, etc etc - usually resulting in an extremely low pH.

Other system of interest are humic acid (from peat) and phosphate systems.

Denny
12-10-2002, 09:30 PM
are you you using an airstone or anything in your holding container? usually after doing this(your aq. filter does the same thing).the ph rises as co2 is driven off. you may have very low carbonate hardness which can lead to unstable p.h in the tank. do you know what the gh and kh values are? it may end up that you need to add crushed coral or limestone to bring up the kh.

denny

fcdiscus
12-10-2002, 09:40 PM
Try about a 1/4 tsp of baking soda in your set up water. Frank

nalah
12-10-2002, 10:17 PM
tap PH is unstable lately. last week was around 8.5,today,its 7.5.
(sydney dams are very low due to draught season.... maybe that affects it.??)

Tap - 50ppm (2.8dH)/ ph 7.5

Holding - 50ppm / ph 7.0 (here i use prime and was using acid buffer)

Tanks - 50ppm / 2 tanks on 5.5ph, one tank on 6.0ph