PDA

View Full Version : struc. engineering or construction ?'s

midnight1
12-12-2002, 11:50 PM
any one have any structural engineering / construction questions maybe i can help. i'm a registered engineer and have been in the construction/remodeling industry since 1986. you guys are giving me great advice on discus and i'm willing too share my expertise (if you want too call it that)

paul

DarkDiscus
12-13-2002, 02:46 PM
Paul,

I guarantee you will get some questions regarding tank/water weight and whether or not their houses are going to collapse!

John

midnight1
12-13-2002, 05:22 PM
that kind of question is no problem :D

paul

cgrim10
12-14-2002, 11:31 AM
i have one. this is a serious question.
i am a structural detailer/checker at home office. i recentley recieved drawings for bid (petrochemical) through a local fabricator(houston).
after doing a takeoff, and running it through a unit pricing schedule, i came up with 74,000 lbs. and my bid reflected that. they accepted my bid and issued drawings marked for detailing also asking for a price on revision time. i have completed the model, SDS2. and it weighed in at 117,000lbs. after seeing this i verified the error, the engineer had changed material sizes from the bid set, to the detailing set without clouding changed sizes revised.
(they were given revision levels from "for bid", to "for detailing")
no extra members, just per foot weight. and i mean most beam sizes doubled. i finished recieving revisions(inconsequential at best) and am wanting to bill, but don't want to put the fabricator in the middle of this, because he is my customer. what do you see here? any info/help appreciated
craig

midnight1
12-14-2002, 12:07 PM