PDA

View Full Version : pool ph down?

ReeferKimberly
12-28-2002, 03:24 AM
this is probably a no no but i am just curious.

do people use pool products such as "aquachem" in aquariums?
its main ingredient is sodium bisulfate. it is used in pools to lower the ph.also:

where do i find peat and how does it come? ???

i'm a discus newbie and my ph is at 7.6 (too high i know)

what would u guys recommend to lower it?

thankz a bunch!
~kim~ ;D

btw, the reason i am trying to lower it is b/c i'm trying to breed two pairs of mine. i have one pair in a community 55 gallon and another in a bare 20 gallon.

12-28-2002, 04:16 AM
I use muriatic acid to lower the ph in my breeding tanks...which is also used to lower the ph in swimming pools...

ReeferKimberly
12-28-2002, 04:57 AM
i'm not sure, if i ever was to use this aquachem, how i would even measure it. it goes by the thousand gallons, not exactly an aqauriums product range.

does anyone one else use these sort of products? also, has anyone used this specific one? (aquachem ph decreaser)

and i'm not quite sure what peat even is. i need to know where to find it, how much to use, ect ect...

thankz david and everyone else!
~kim~

April
12-28-2002, 05:15 AM
welcome by the way....and there are people who breed at 7.6. its the hardness and microsiemens that matter for the eggs. id try peat in your holding tank first. way easier .
buy good ole canadian spaghum peat moss from your gardening store. in a huge bale. it will last you forever.
just remeber if your lowering your ph....you can cause major problems if you lower too fast. stable is always best. up and down is not good. you will get very unhappy sick fish.
so...if you choose to lower...be very careful.

ReeferKimberly
12-28-2002, 05:26 AM
i checked my hardness with our local water dept. and the drinking/tap water is a 33 milligrams per liter. i think that is suppost to be moderately soft. does that sound ok?

what are microsiemens? can i test for them?