PDA

View Full Version : Ralph's BB planted tank

Ralph
01-08-2003, 06:55 PM
This is my first attempt at a bare bottom planted tank, along with my first attempt with a digital camera, first try at taking aquarium pics, and my first attempt at posting photos. So please be gentle.

This is an experiment to come up with a tank that is easy to care for (cleaning and WCs) that still has the look of a well planted tank. That means no substrate. It has to be easy to vacuum uneaten food and feces. It also needs to be easy to make and inexpensive. And it should be relatively easy to pull everything out of the tank for complete cleaning (or medicating). It is also a halfway step to going to a actual discus biotope, with fewer plants and more branching driftwood.
This isn't for everyone but may be an option for some people who want to reduce the amount of tank maintenance without sacrificing completely the look of a planted tank.
The stump I got from tjudy (who posts here periodically), I like the way it speads out giving the illusion of a substrate. It will eventually have more Anubias on it, but not so much as to hide the wood. It's a real nice piece.
The plants were basically thrown in at this point. I'm trying three bulb plants to see how they do without substrate. The tall one on the left (I know it's hard to see) is that Aponogeton boivinianus that I bought as an Anubias (not one of my prouder moments). It was 3" tall two weeks ago, it is close to 15" now.

This is only stage 1 and is not the final tank, I'm going to need everyone's feedback on what should be added (or removed) to (or from) the tank. My next step is to add some branching driftwood hanging from the top (not touching the bottom of the tank) with maybe some green algae on it. I'm also kicking around the idea of siliconing some sand to the bottom of the tank (which should have been my first step).
Any advice will be appreciated (except "Take better pictures").

lcs
01-08-2003, 08:12 PM