PDA

View Full Version : tap water filter?

Gnome
01-22-2003, 08:03 AM
Hi discus lover,
I'm just learning about breeding discus, and I see that most people have problem w/ their water hardness, and the expensive R/O unit, but I'm really impressed by carol, who is managed to breed discus w/ her 11dgh water hardness, how did you get the r/o water from?btw, I saw a TAP WATER FILTER unit by Aquarium Pharmaceuticals, I'm just wondering if you guys knew about this and does this thing really work as well as R/O unit?
http://www.southpawpets.com/f45.shtml
Gnome.

01-22-2003, 09:46 AM
From what Ive heard...The A.P. tap water filter (mixed bed resin) exhausts quickly...even faster with hard water. From what Ive read, with the large water changes discus keepers tend to do....they only last about a week.
Not sure....but the last I can remember, they were about thirty bucks a crack.... :o...could get pretty expensive.

Tony

darcy
01-22-2003, 10:09 AM
I have to agree with Tony on this one!! I had one of these water filter's and it did not last a week!! So to me to spend the 30 bucks a week for the cartridge, was not very smart. Go with an RO unit. It will save you money in the end!!
Darcy

pissydiscus
01-22-2003, 10:12 AM
From what Ive heard...The A.P. tap water filter (mixed bed resin) exhausts quickly...even faster with hard water. From what Ive read, with the large water changes discus keepers tend to do....they only last about a week.
Not sure....but the last I can remember, they were about thirty bucks a crack.... :o...could get pretty expensive.

Tony

You can get the filters for 20 bucks from petco maybe cheaper somewhere else, my friend uses this water filter setup and it works fine for him for the past year and a half with his 4 discus.

saints27
01-22-2003, 07:10 PM
The different prices for the filters are for different grades of filter,Buying them from a water filtration place are much more expensive than from a pet store also they are much better.