PDA

View Full Version : buying wild discus

BryanN
01-25-2003, 02:44 AM
I am new to discus keeping and have been doing research on different types of discus. I find that the wild strains are really nice and wanted to know where you guys would recommend me buying them.

Thanks in advance,

Bryan Nguyen

Wolf
01-25-2003, 02:51 AM
Check out this thread.

http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=11;action=display;threadid=6463

Oliver seems to have some of the best Wilds around. I'm not sure how to contact him but I'm sure you can find out if you dig around a little. Last I heard, he was back in the rainforest getting another batch. Be sure you are well prepared and read read read if you are new to discus.

Lauro Baldini
01-25-2003, 09:52 AM
Bryan, don't buy wild discus. Let me tell you some interesting facts:

1) Wild discus are captured for export. In that process, more than 60% of the fishes die;
2) Brazilian government is not capable - as for now, due to our economical problems - to keep and eye on those exportations and there are areas where we are running out of discus;
3) Wild discus are very difficult to maintain: they usually eat only live food and water conditions must be compatible with the water of their original environment;
4) They live in areas with poor illumination, very clean, black, acid and soft water and no plants or rocks: a well-planted aquarium is a strange environment to them.
5) Wild discus are used to live in large areas, in shoals. Even a big aquarium with 5 or some more individuals is a stress to them.

I can list more and more items to make you think about having wild discus. If those above aren't enough to convince you, you should know that any discus is more beautiful than the wild discus.

Excuse my English.

Greetings from Brazil.

Lauro.

01-25-2003, 11:12 AM
Well Said! Lauro. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Dennis_Hardenburge
01-25-2003, 10:06 PM
Lauro
First I would like to thank you for posting.