PDA

View Full Version : Strains for Beginner

Jason_Wong
02-13-2003, 04:51 AM
I am new to Discus and very interested to have a few of them. I see there are so many strains with different patterns and colors. Are there certain strains which are hardy and more disease/parasites resistant than the others?

I want to start with six 3" discus. Should I have all six of the same strain? I prefer to have 3 pairs of different strains. Will it be fine?

Thanks for your advice.
Jason

larry lob
02-13-2003, 05:31 AM
Hi Jason and welcome to simply,

I don't beleive there are any strains that are akward except for wild caught fish, i would suggest you steer very clear of wild caught as they don't aclimatise easily and can carry many difrent diseases.

as to domestic bred fish i think the choice is yours. decide what colours you like the most and go with it, If you want 6 difrent fish that would be fine, 3 pairs is also good, basicaly it's upto you.

A couple of things i would like to add.....make sure all 6 fish are from the same source unless you can quaranteen all fish separetly, take time in chosing your fish, watch them for a while if you can (assuming your picking them out) read the threads that tell you what makes a good healthy fish. and DON'T buy anything untill your tank is totaly settled and cycled.

Good luck Hope this helped

Larry

law15
02-13-2003, 09:05 AM
Jason,
I am a beginner like you, and after much research started my discus tank in November. It has been great watching the fish grow. I strongly support Larry's suggestion of getting your fish at one place. I got 2 red turks, 2 blue diamonds, 2 red pidgeon bloods and 2 red marlboros, they look great!
Good luck on your discus adventure!
Alan :coffee:

DarkDiscus
02-13-2003, 09:35 AM
Jason,

I strongly suggest getting all your fish of one strain that you absolutely love. Why? Actually a bunch of reasons.