PDA

View Full Version : Interested newbie

Gamblet
02-18-2003, 07:29 PM
Hi all,

I'm 16 and have a 3', 39 US gallon tank in my room. Right now I'm cycling it with zebra danios, and after I plan to go into cichlids. I haven't made any decisions as to what type of cichlids though.

I know that because I'm almost a complete novice (I've read a lot, but have no experience) I'd have a lot of trouble caring for discus. Plus they cost a fortune at the LFS :p

But I'd still like to know what it takes to set up a discus tank. What's the right path for a beginner to take? Breeding wouldn't be important at the start, simply looking at them would be pleasure enough! Perhaps, if I could handle looking after them, I could get some cheap ones from a breeder.

Ryan
02-18-2003, 07:42 PM
The best thing that you can do, in my opinion, is to read through this section of the site (Discus Basics for Beginners). Go back to the very first page of this section and browse the headings for things that interest you. Many newcomers have posted in the past few weeks regarding new discus and most of the answers you are looking for are already here.

There are threads regarding tank setup, fish selection (What to Buy vs. What Not to Buy), water changes and conditioning, you name it.

After a bit of researching through the Beginners area, you can post with questions on things you are still unsure of or that you couldn't find in your reading.

Ryan

jeep
02-19-2003, 12:39 AM
I don't think you'd have a lot of trouble caring for discus especially of you're not breeding. All you have do do is decide that's what you want and get yourself into a routine.

As long as you start with healthy discus from a reliable source and read the info provided here you should be just fine.

Good luck!!!

Gamblet
02-19-2003, 04:09 AM
Thanks for your replies. I'll do some research (when I don't have homework... :p ) and see if the discus is the fish for me. If I don't go discus, angels are the next choice.

Gamblet