PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to discus and ask for your suggestions!

Qbal18
02-27-2003, 01:59 AM
ok i have my tank set up now for 6 months and am going to go get a pair of discus tomorrow. now before you all jump and say who a little fast don't you think i have done research and know pretty well what i am doing but since this is my first time with discus I ask for your help. my current set up is a 50g tank that is heavily planted i am doing weekly water changes on it but i WILL start to do 2 water changes a week of 30% i hope this will be enough. my water spec are: KH30ppm GH 20-30ppm NO3 2-4ppm Fe.25-.50ppm Ph6.4-6.8 (i am putting in diy CO2 so it varies a bit but i am getting a pressurized system next month so it Will be much more stable) now Right now i already have a few other fish in the tank that i want to put the discus in:
5 cardinal
5 rasboras
5 rummy nose
2 Corry's
3 chines A.E. but i want to exchange them for S.A.E's

tomarow i am planing on getting a pair of 2.5" tangerine discus i have been looking at for a week and have had on hold. (i get them for half price tomorrow so i get the pair for 35$ can.
what i am asking for is any info that could be beneficial to me or liks that would be helpful, diseases, treatments, or just anything to really keep an eye out for.

ReeferKimberly
02-27-2003, 02:18 AM
well first off, a bare-bottom tank is best IMO for discus but many keep them in planted so it's not like it can't be done. But the main problem i saw with your situation is that your only getting 2 discus. discus (especially juvies) should most definately be kept in groups so only 2 is not a good idea. 4-6 would be a much better choice but with the other fish i'm not sure how the bio-load would handle it.
coming off of that, i'm not sure how the other fish and especially the plants will handle the 82-86 temps that the discus need.