PDA

View Full Version : planted discus tanks

bryalk1
03-03-2003, 10:18 PM
i,m new to discus and have been reading as much as i can. i have been reading the postings and notice a stong divergance between those for and against planted tanks. i set up a 360 gal tank hoping to have a planted tank. karen randell says it isn't difficult but i want to suceed. my wife is getting irritated wanting to know my plans. i'm still not sure. i can see both sides of the issue.(psych backround). has anyone tried a planted tank? how about a powerhead to stir up the bottom so it can go thru the filter? my tank has a dual drain and i use aoversized wet dry and dolphin 3000. i have a uv and protien i haven't hooked up and won't unless i have to. help!!!! i want to drive to south fl and visit jack wattleys.to pick fish. i have a 55 i can keep them in for a while that is bare bottom.

discusnovice
03-03-2003, 10:41 PM
As my name implies, I am a NOVICE but I do keep a planted Discus tank with a reverse flow under gravel filter with two 170 GPH power heads. The reverse flow seems to keep the uneaten frozen brine shrimp, frozen bloodworms, etc moving and they adhear to the sponge and the discus pick them off. I do daily water changes of 10% to 20% and get very little if any uneaten food and I do move the gravel around a bit before I start my water removal.

The experts on this site are very opiniated in their belief in a bare bottom and no under gravel filter but nothing is ever set in stone as to what works for one and what they enjoy. I love discus and have for thirty years but if I had to maintain a bare bottom tank, I would give up as i enjoy the planted (plastic) and graveled tank as much as I enjoy the discus. Let me also say that I only one tank have no plans to have more than one tank and no plans to breed them.