PDA

View Full Version : What to do with water?

remikz
03-04-2003, 12:31 PM
Hello guys, I've been reading through your posts and I can see that you people are all professionals. I hope it's no trouble for me to bother you, but I am new to discus and a little confused ??? .

I have recently bought myself a Juwel Rio 240 (63 US Gallons) and guess what? I want to eventually keep discus in it. I know that I don't have to change the PH of my water, and I intend to use water straight from the tap.

My tap water PH is spot on Neutral, and it is soft. But surely there must be something, some conditioning I have to do to it before Discus will live in it (yes apart from DeChlorinate, and get the temp right).

Is there anything I need to do before my tapwater can become safe for Discus?

Thank you so much for any info!

--Ian

Don_Lee
03-04-2003, 04:43 PM
Hi Ian-Welcome to Simply Discus! Are you familiar with the cycling process? Water becomes "cycled" after exposure to ammonia, and through a series of chemical reactions ultimately there are bacteria available to "neutralize" ammonia to nitrate. You want your water to be cycled if at all possible. I would recommend referring to the precycling thread in this section for more details regarding this process.
Do you know the hardness of your water? It is a good thing to know generally speaking, if it is too soft it probably lacks nutrients and if it is too hard your discus will not like it.
Those are the biggest areas to address IMO.

HTH,

Don ;D

03-04-2003, 05:36 PM
Hi Ian,

What are yor plans for W/C and water preparation procedure ?
Are you planning to age you water ?

Ronald

remikz
03-04-2003, 09:00 PM
Thanks for the replies, Yes I am currently cycling my tank right now. I am well aware of the nitrogen cycle, I'm new to Discus keeping, but quite expirienced with tropical fish.