PDA

View Full Version : Begginner Seeks advice

remikz
03-04-2003, 12:47 PM
Hello to you all, I am new to Discus and new to simplydiscus.com. I can see from browsing through the posts here that I will never be stuck when it comes to keeping Discus.

I have recently set-up a Juwel Rio 240 (63 US Gallon) tank that I intend to keep Discus in. I will be using soft water with a neutral PH that comes straight from my tap.

HERE is a picture of my tank as it currently looks: http://www.aoxe68.dsl.pipex.com/img/tank.jpg

I use 3 external filters on it:

Fluval 204 - Mechanical + Bilogical Filtration
Eheim ecco 2231 - Mechanical + Biological
Eheim Professional Wet/Dry Thermofilter 2327 - Stuffed with 5l of Efhi Substrat

I am awaiting 70 plants that I ordered from www.java-plants.co.uk. They are for a Discus tank so hopefully they should do ok.

My only questions are:

I want to buy my discus young 2" - How many and What kinds of discus do you reccomend?

When will my tank be ready for discus? -I know it will take a long time.

What important basic information should I know before attempting to keep discus?

Sorry if this post comes across as rude. I really appreciate and need as much advice and info as I can possibly get. Thank you so much in advance.

--Ian

DarkDiscus
03-04-2003, 01:03 PM
Ian,

Welcome to the board. My suggestion would be to do as follows: Learn from the plant-types on the board how to set up the best 63 gallon plant tank you can and get it going.

In the meantime, buy a 55 gallon tank and cheap (Aquaclear or sponge type or both) filter, heater and the basics.

While your plant tank gets healthy, buy 6-8 discus and keep them in 55 gallon. Grow them big and fat, using lots of water changes and lots of quality food. When they become adults and are completely gorgeous, move them to the 63 gallon, beautiful planted tank and enjoy.

JMHO,

John

DarkDiscus
03-04-2003, 01:10 PM
Ian,