PDA

View Full Version : Need encouragement

iceskater
03-15-2003, 01:41 PM
I am new to keeping fish. I currently have a 29 gallon tank with an oscar (small) 2 blood parrotts and 4 gouurami's. The parrotts and gourami's are really aggressive.

I want to change over to Discus. I am dong well at keeping my tank clean, in fact, I get screamed at for cleaning it to much. Problem is everyone I talk to about Discus say they are hard to keep, and get me discouraged. I have read alot of posts on this forum and everyone seems so positive.

I have so many questions.

1. What is this forum's opinion on discus and angelfish together?

2. I plan on returning all the fish I have in my tank now to the LFS and starting over with Discus and Angelfish. I want to keep the large gravel and artifical plants in my tank. Once I remove the fish is it ok to remove all the water, plants and gravel, bleach them out and start over with new water? If I do so, will I hae to wait for the tank to cycle again. Or does the cycling occur in the filter. Sorry I am still new if that was a silly question.

3. I want 3 Discus and a few angelfish all small sized. If I put them in all at once, do I still need to quarenteen each one? I have nothing to use a quarenteen tank.

I would appreciate all input. I do not plan to breed I just want to enjoy these fish. I am really stressed out now about all the fighting going on in my tank. I need something more peaceful.

Karen

Carol_Roberts
03-15-2003, 03:06 PM
Hi Iceskater, welcome to SimplyDiscus :wave:

It sounds like you are trying to do your research and do everything right for your new discus. Here are my answers to your questions.

1. What is this forum's opinion on discus and angelfish together? A few people keep angels and discus together, most don't. Generally angels will outcompete discus for food. You'll end up with fat, happy angels and dark runted discus :-\