PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing Discus

iceskater
03-28-2003, 10:06 AM
I am buying at least 4 Discus from Jeff over the next few weeks. I want a Super Melon, Marlboro Red, darn forgot the name of the other one, it was bright red and had white fins. And a colbalt blue.

My question is, since I am getting 4 different strains of Discus instead of all the same strain, what risks am I taking??

Thanks Karen

I am sure you can tell I am a newbie.

henryD
03-28-2003, 10:31 AM
I have 6 domestic discus. 3 red and 1 cobalt and 2 tur. I think someone mentioned it was more important to have them the same size verus strains. I did noticed that the 3 red i have seem to stay together though. I am not sure it makes that big of a difference as everyone has a number of different strains in their collections. As long as they are the same size or close in size i would say your ok.

However, there are a lot more experience guys on the forum. So I am sure your going to get some good advice.

Mr.Trips
03-28-2003, 01:03 PM
Strange that you asked this, I have 5 red turks in the same tank with one cobalt blue, even though the red turks are different sizes, they stay together. My Cobalt is all by himself! I would try getting 2 of each color IMO. I forgot Karen, your putting them in a 29 G tank?

gemamanda
03-28-2003, 04:57 PM
I've kind of had an opposite encounter when it comes to mixing strains and sizes. I have 2's of 4 different strains and it seems that most of them actually "pair" up with others of a different strain and size all together! There is a 2" cobalt with a 4" red leopard that look like they are hooking up right now. :D

iceskater
03-28-2003, 11:40 PM
Yes, I want to grow them in a 29g tank, I figure by time they grown out. I will have finally parted with the community fish I have in the other 29 gallon. And have 2 different tanks. Until I can gather enough money to buy a bigger setup.