PDA

View Full Version : Im brand new to Discus! Please help!

Bdawg
04-04-2003, 01:06 AM
Hey guys,

Ok, heres the deal. I have a 33 gallon already cycled tank with 4 zebras, 2 gold barbs and a tiny pleco. My pH is about 7.5 in tank and has been the same almost all of the year and a half the tank has been set up. There is no ammonia and evertyhing seems pretty good. I recently have become interested in Discus and decided that I amy try my hand at them. This would require swithcing the fishing I have in there already (exept for the pleco, he stays to clean the tank).

As I said I am totally new and need to know how many discus I can keep, what i should change, basicly everything. thanks alot!

Tony
04-04-2003, 01:35 AM
Q) how high are you prepare to run the tank temp up to.
disucs needs ~28C plus. Sometime up to 32C for treatment.
The other tank mate may not take it. Are you willing to take the risk.
Q) I find that I kill a lot of discus in a tropical tank with tank mates, and gravel bottom if the discus are juvenile (say 2" fish) Are you prepare to take the risk?
Q) are you prepare to run a different tank to grow out 6 2" discus before you move it into the tropical setup or are you prepare to get 1-2 big discus (say 1yr old one)....
Q) how many wc are you prepare to do... different people has different opinion... but at least prepare to do couple 10%-25% wc per week.

enough discouraging thoughts...
may be consider setting another 55g tank bb, running at 30C and get 6 2" discus??? They are lovely and extremely addictive

dm
04-04-2003, 08:00 AM
Tony gives good advice. You are only going to be able to have a couple, maybe three full grown Discus in there but if you are growing them out, you will want to have at least 6. Then you are going to have to decide eventually if you want to get rid of some (hard to do) or get a bigger tank.

BlueBull
04-04-2003, 12:25 PM
Bdawg, loose the Pleco and get a Cory.

Mr.Trips
04-04-2003, 03:48 PM
Congrats!