PDA

View Full Version : Ph Buffers

dred
04-16-2003, 08:07 PM
Hi folks,

I'm in the planning stages of a Discus setup.

So, let me tell you about the water I'm gonna have to deal with.

pH is 8.2
KH is <5d
GH is <1d (sorry no German scale figure)
and the water has each of chlorine, chloramine, phosphates and nitrate straight from the tap (no measures available, but I know they are there).

So, basically it seems that my water source is well buffered to hold at a pH of 8+. I'm new at this game of altering pH and simultaneously targeting soft water. And, I've noted that the general method is to strip the water of everything and rebuild it (RO or DI + supplements). And, I will admit that I'm lazy. I anticipate a 50 gal/day water demand very shortly (plans).

Will an acid buffer adversely affect the water hardness? Or is my water soft enough to go the buffer route? Any brilliant ideas for a low cost method of stripping the chlorine and chloramine, and then dropping the pH to a more Discus friendly level? I would ideally like to create a system that only requires that I monitor the storage tank to verify that it's functioning properly.

Thanks in advance, Milton

jeep
04-16-2003, 09:39 PM
First of all, is your ph 8.2 out of the tap or is that aged for 24 hours? Aged water is the crucial measurement.

Using acid buffers is tricky business. Make sure you know what you're doing and what to do in the event of a ph crash.

Your water is pretty high in kh for such soft water. Are you sure of your readings?

My water is 8.2ph aged and I don't have problems with my discus. I use straight tap for non-breeders and reconstituted RO for breeders.

I think you're fine for grow-outs...

dred
04-16-2003, 10:49 PM
Jeep thanks.