PDA

View Full Version : tank

seagul
04-17-2003, 09:42 AM
i am a very new beginner in discus, getting interested in them. May i know how should i set up a tank and how mnay juviles discus can i put in a 50gal if i want them to grow to adults. Can anyone tell me also what conditions and other things i need to take note off when keeping discus. ??? :bounce:

chuck
04-17-2003, 11:57 AM
Your question could and does fill entire books on raising discus. so I'll just go over the basics..
Very General rule: 1 adult discus /10gal water.
Discus need pristine water conditions
adult discus prefer soft water GH 2dh
preferred temp 84-86f
water changes at least 10% daily
bare bottom tanks ( no gravel) seem to assist in keeping discus healthier. food and dirt are not trapped in the gravel.
When juveniles they should be kept with at least 6 other discus the same size. They are schooling fish and are less stressed when in groups.
You can keep Neon’s, cardinals, and Cory’s with discus. Some people even keep angels with them but there is debates on weather they pass diseases between the to species.

IMO 3 Good Books to get: )
Penang Discus, 2nd edition, (S.Yeng)
Discus Back to nature (Dick Au)
Tropical Fishlopaedia: A Complete Guide to Fish Care (Mary Bailey, Peter Burgess)
Hope this helped you,
Chuck

Tyler
04-17-2003, 12:03 PM
To add to what chuck said (good advice)......
I would keep the tank bare bottomed for raising out young fish, and paint the back and bottom. A good color is a light sky blue. Then buy 6-8 fish (2-3" is best) and keep them alone in your 50 gallon.
Feed at least 5 times daily, and change as much water daily as possible (I do at least 50%).
About ph, tds, and all those things....I wouldn't worry about it much unless you are planning on breeding. Discus can grow large and healthy in what people would say is not good discus water.

Tyler

Carol_Roberts
04-17-2003, 03:36 PM