PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus and need some help

Rafa_Sant
04-22-2003, 10:31 AM
Hi, first of all, I'm glad I found this board !!!

Now, I got a 29g tank from my parents, 'cause they moved and no longer can keep it. They tried to make a Planted Discus tank with no luck (the LFS's aren't that helpfull around here) and they weren't to concerned about whater changes and correct feedings.
I've been keeping a small reef tank for more than five years and it's doing quite good (planning to upgrade soon ;D ). I know all (I think) the basics of freshwater, but I'm new to live plants and discus. The current inhabitants are a Red Turquoise and a Algae Eater. Also substrate with gravel on top, and some plants. I think two of them are Amazon swords and the others, no idea.
The Discus it's super shy, always hidding or in a corner. When I feed him, he doesn't eat while I'm in front of the tank, I have to move away and he starts to pick at the gravel looking for food.
Is this a normal behavior for a discus? Should I get him a partner? Any recommendation?

Thanks

Rafa

PS: Sorry for all the BLA BLA, but I think it was necesary for a small background.

discus_nw
04-22-2003, 11:20 AM
Rafa,

Too many try to raise discus under less than ideal situations. They put the cart before the horse. They have some equipment and a tank and want discus. Many times what the person has is not what the discus needs. A 29 gal tank is not a suitable discus tank , other than a breeder or hospital tank. You can grow out some young ones in them, but it is not a good discus set up for a community tank. It's simply too small for what discus need.

What is that that they need? More discus. What do more discus need? More space. I wouldn't have anything less than a 50-55 gal tank with 5-6 discus in them.