PDA

View Full Version : first time user! new tank

jeff_cieslak
04-27-2003, 09:34 PM
hello everyone this is my first time on this site looks like there are some very nice people and they also really know what they are talking about when it comes to discus. anyway i just changed my tank over from cichlids to just discus. it is a 135 gallon tank i have 2 candy apple red discus Marlboro red discus rosey red discus and a blue dimond discus there are also two plecos in the tank.i have an ehiem 2229 wet/dry filter and two power heads one with a spounge filter on it and one just for water movement. looking for any tips or hints on care for my discus or filteration tips should i change my system to a sump tank set up or get another filter to much water current in my tank?? again any help will be much welcomed thanks alot jeff

Carol_Roberts
04-27-2003, 11:29 PM
Hi Jeff, welcome to SimplyDiscus :wave:

I have a 135 with africans in it right now. Let me tell you discus are a whole 'nuther ball game.

Discus need a much cleaner enviornment than africans.

Do you have 5 discus and 2 plecos in your tank? How old are discus? How much gravel, etc.?

If only 5 discus and 2 plecos in a 135 gallon are fed clean food like tetrabits and flakes ( no messy beefheart or brineshrimp) You could get by with two or three 25% water changes per week.

You will need to thoroughly vacuum the gravel and wipe down the inside walls of the tank weekly.

Your filtration is probably fine - discus need clean new water rather than lots of filter-power. You probably don't need the second power head.

Most all of us recommend bare bottom tanks to grow out juvenile discus. Adult discus do fine in show tanks.

Smokey
04-30-2003, 03:26 AM
Howdey Jeff; welcome to S/D!!!
First off, I would suggest losing the pleco's. IME - they seem to pollute the tank more than discus. lol.