PDA

View Full Version : New Set-up Advice Wanted

Ponch
04-28-2003, 02:55 PM
New member here.......Background info: I just set up a 150 gallon.......it's artificially planted, w/ red flint substrate, 2 Eheim canisters, 2 250w ebo-jager heaters. I'm an experienced freshwater fish hobbyist, but not an experienced discus keeper, so I'm looking for some help.

I live in the Chicago area and have Lake Michigan water (7.5 or so ph and moderate hardness). The tank has been up for 2 days and looks great so far (don't they all after 2 days!). About 40 gallons were transferred from an established aquarium and I rinsed out sponges and filter media from other healthy aquariums into the new aquarium with the hope that this will speed up the cycling period. There are 10 gold pristella tetras and 4 various corydoras in at this time to begin the cycling. The Ebo's brought the temp to 85F quickly and, as expected at this point, no noticable traces of ammonia or nitrite yet.

This will be a discus aquarium (I hope) one day, with various shoalers, namely characidae family, some small plecos and corys. All fish will be purchased locally, so the water parameters will be the same as what I have.

I'd like some opinions/suggestions on next steps, such as when, what types and how many more cycling fish to add (characidae family suggestions, please), water change suggestions, additional filter media suggestions (I'm just using various grades of floss/sponges at this time), and any other comments/opinions/suggestions.

My local discus keeper has been a tremendous help. I just like to hear what others have to say.

Much appreciative!!!!

dm
04-28-2003, 07:57 PM